Where Public Safety and Progress Meet

Georgia Council on Criminal Justice Reform

The current Georgia Council on Criminal Justice Reform was created by HB 349 during the 2013 legislative session and requires the Governor to appoint 15 members to the Council.  The Council’s charge is to conduct periodic comprehensive reviews of criminal laws, criminal procedure, sentencing laws, adult correctional issues, juvenile justice issues, enhancement of probation and parole supervision, better management of the prison population and of the population in the custody of the Department of Juvenile Justice, and other issues relates to criminal proceedings and accountability courts.

The Council is co-chaired by the Honorable Michael Boggs and Thomas Worthy, Esq.

Below is a listing of the current members of the Council:

  • Hon. Bill Cowsert, Senator, District 46

  • Hon. BJ Pak, Representative, District 108

  • Hon. Michael Boggs, Judge, Georgia Court of Appeals (Co-Chair)

  • Hon. Jason Deal, Judge, Superior Court of Northeastern Judicial Circuit

  • Hon. Steve Teske, Judge, Clayton County Juvenile Court

  • Jackie Johnson, Esq., District Attorney, Brunswick Judicial Circuit

  • Christine Van Dross, Esq., Public Defender, Clayton County

  • Scott Berry, Sheriff, Oconee County

  • Carey Miller, Deputy Legal Counsel, Governor's Office (Co-Chair)

  • T.J. Bement, District Court Administrator, Tenth Judicial Administrative District

  • Paul Bolster, Esq., Executive Director, Georgia Supportive Housing Association

  • Roy Copeland, Criminal Defense Attorney and Assistant Professor of Management at Valdosta State University

  • Henry Kelly, Project Executive, Georgia Power Company

  • Teresa Roseborough, Esq., Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, The Home Depot

  • Stephanie Woodard, Solicitor General, Hall County